Skip to Main Content
CWRU Links

Cancer Imaging

Program Themes

  • Utilize imaging agents to study cancer pathogenesis and develop cancer-targeting therapeutics
  • Codify quantifiable imaging metrics to study cancer biology and improve cancer treatments  
  • Translate novel imaging methodologies to patient care

Program Information

The overarching goal of the Cancer Imaging Program is to utilize imaging for basic discoveries of carcinogenic mechanisms and therapeutic development that will translate into improved patient care.

To provide structure and promote cohesion within the larger program, investigators are organized into four scientific focus areas that address key questions in cancer research and reflect specific areas of expertise of the Program's membership.

  • Imaging of the Tumor Microenvironment: This focus group engages members who study the cancer microenvironment with the goal of identifying new markers and paradigms for drug targeting or cancer detection. This includes development of tools to assess the extent of tumor cell migration into surrounding host tissues for clinical assessment of disease dissemination.
  • Image-Guided Therapies: Members of this focus group develop novel approaches for monitoring cancer treatment and evaluating efficacy in vivo and ultimately in patients. These efforts range from clever utilization of conventional imaging tools for rapid clinical translation to developing targeted imaging agents and the tools for assessing drug delivery.
  • Nanotechnology for Imaging and Drug Delivery: Members of this focus group develop nanodevices that impact many aspects of cancer imaging and treatment such as gene transfer and drug delivery. Efforts in this group include utilization of metallic nanoparticles to specifically deliver contrast agents to disease sites.
  • Stem Cell Imaging: This focus group utilizes imaging approaches to study the biology of stem cells in vivo, for instance in the therapeutic setting, and to observe cancer stem cells. Members investigate the interactions between stem cells and their microenvironment and have developed imaging techniques to track stem cell homing, engraftment, proliferation, and differentiation.

Program Members

Norbert E. Avril, MD
Professor, Nuclear Medicine
norbert.avril@UHhospitals.org

James P. Basilion, PhD
Professor, Radiology
jxb206@case.edu

Susann M. Brady-Kalnay, PhD
Professor, Molecular Biology & Microbiology
smb4@case.edu

Jennifer Dorth, MD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
jennifer.dorth@UHhospitals.org

Rodney J. Ellis, MD
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
rodney.ellis@UHhospitals.org

Agata A. Exner, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology
agata.exner@case.edu

Chris A. Flask, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering, and Pediatrics
caf@case.edu

Mark A. Griswold, PhD
Professor, MRI
mag46@case.edu

Vikas Gulani, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Assistant Professor
vikas@case.edu

Efstathios Karathanasis, PhD
Assistant Professor, Radiology
stathis@case.edu

Shlomo Koyfman, MD
Assistant Professor, Medicine
koyfmas@ccf.org

Vinod Labhasetwar, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
labhasv@ccf.org

Zhenghong Lee, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology
zxl11@case.edu

Zheng-Rong Lu, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
zxl125@case.edu

Mitchell M. Machtay, MD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
mitchell.machtay@UHhospitals.org

Anant Madabhushi, MS, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
anant.madabhushi@case.edu

David Mansur, MD
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
david.mansur@UHhospitals.org

Raymond F. Muzic, Jr., PhD
Professor, Radiology
raymond.muzic@case.edu 

Donna Plecha, MD
Associate Professor, Radiology
donna.plecha@UHhospitals.org

Andrew M. Rollins, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
amr9@case.edu

Pablo R. Ros, MD, MPH, PhD
Professor and Chair, Radiology
pablo.ros@UHhospitals.org

Nicole Seiberlich, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
nes30@case.edu

Anirban Sen Gupta, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
anirban.sengupta@case.edu

Andrew E. Sloan, MD
Professor, Neurological Surgery
andrew.sloan@UHhospitals.org

Nicole F. Steinmetz, PhD
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering
nicole.steinmetz@case.edu

Satish Viswanath, PhD
Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering
satish.viswanath@case.edu

Horst A. von Recum, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
horst.vonrecum@case.edu

David L. Wilson, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering
dlw@case.edu

Min Yao, MD, PhD
Professor, Radiation Oncology
min.yao@UHhospitals.org

Program Leaders

James P. Basilion, PhD
Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
jxb206@case.edu

Zhenghong Lee, PhD
Associate Professor, Radiology, Biomedical Engineering
zxl11@case.edu